Annie Bananie en Europe

A blog about travel, life, and everyday tidbits

Wait, what do you mean I’m in Glasgow?

This post should have been written days ago, but the shock and stress of moving to a new city has slowed me down. But yes, folks, I am in Glasgow!

Right, so let me start from the beginning. I relocated to Glasgow, Scotland to work as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Glasgow. I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned that on the blog so…here I am. I have been in Glasgow for 6 days and boy…what a rather strange feeling!

In a nutshell, I can’t believe I’m back in Europe. After being back in Canada and going through the tedious process of looking for a job, I somehow ended back in Europe, in Scotland (which by the way is still part of the UK.) Rather than the feeling of “Wow I am in Europe!” that I had every morning when I woke up during my PhD, whether it was in France or Belgium, now it’s more like “How did this happen again?” I wasn’t as mentally ready for this to start over again as I thought I was, but hey, I’m here now, and we’ll go from here. As a result, Annie Bananie “en Europe” will continue to be an appropriate description of this blog as I’m stuck here again (happily) for who-knows-how-long this time around.

Well, that’s all for now. I’ll write more soon, I promise πŸ˜‰

The photo above is the first one I took upon arrival in Glasgow, from the window of my room at my temporary accommodation. Yes, those are raindrops. (But don’t worry, the city isn’t really that gray – I used a filter on my phone.) I might have arrived in the rainy season, though I had suspected that every season in Glasgow is a rainy season. We’ll see if that’s correct in a few months. My sleeping schedule had been a bit messed up for the first few days or so, and one day I woke up at 7am or so, early enough to catch a sunrise (probably will not happen often once I get into the flow of things). The picture below was taken at almost the same spot as the one above, except with a little bit of colour. Good morning, Glasgow!

6 responses to “Wait, what do you mean I’m in Glasgow?

  1. Candia November 1, 2014 at 17:55

    Good luck with the weather!

    Like

  2. donnaevaligia November 2, 2014 at 02:08

    Weather in Scotland may look gloomy but it treats you with the northern light of the arctic during the ummer morning and evenings. I was in Edinburgh for some time myself a long long time ago. The picture reminded me of so many views from the windows or coffeplaces. Can’ t wait to see what glasgow has become since 😊

    Like

You know you want to leave a comment. What are you waiting for?

