Annie Bananie en Europe

A blog about travel, life, and everyday tidbits

Streets of Bordeaux

Two days before May Day last week, on a tranquil Sunday afternoon, I quietly left my apartment and wandered to Place Pey Berland 5 minutes down the street. The sun was back. I could see blue sky and white clouds. I was happy. It was time for a long-awaited walk.

Place Pey Berland, the public square near the city hall, was filled with people like me taking an afternoon stroll. I guess sun is definitely a better motivation than rain in this regard, huh. Though the rain had seemingly left for the season, the deceiving rays of the sun seemed so welcoming as if saying, “Come, embrace the warmth!” Well I was not fooled. Along came some slightly chilly winds, but at least I was dry. And I remained happy.

I sat by the city hall, watching people come and go as they minded their own business. Then I popped out the camera. I had always wanted to try capturing “people” pictures but am perpetually afraid of shooting directly in front of passers-by, and what better opportunity did I have than this, as an innocent, unsuspecting stranger just enjoying her day idling under the sun?

I turned this series of photos into black and white because I wanted to look professional and pretend I knew what I was doing. Just kidding. I am far from being any pro and this is just a fun experiment. I am no street photographer and in fact, no photographer at all πŸ˜‰ Also, I will be unconventional this time and leave out captions and descriptions for the pictures. Here we go.

5 responses to “Streets of Bordeaux

  1. London Caller May 9, 2012 at 00:55

    Hello Annie, I am back from Birmingham. πŸ™‚
    Had a great time there.

    Lovely set of photos!

    Like

    • Annie Bananie May 9, 2012 at 13:48

      I want to visit England again. It’s been awhile since I’ve been in an all-English-speaking city. Come to think of it, it’s been one year minus one week since my trip to London…how time flies!

      Like

      • London Caller May 9, 2012 at 21:52

        Ha… Not many people would go to Birmingham for their holidays.
        I have actually been there many times, mainly for my work.
        There’s a little Chinatown in Birmingham. πŸ™‚

        If you come to England again, you should try to visit Bath.
        It’s one of my favourite cities in England.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Wall art in Louvain-la-Neuve | Annie Bananie en Europe

You know you want to leave a comment. What are you waiting for?

