Annie Bananie en Europe

A blog about travel, life, and everyday tidbits

Autumn in Louvain-la-Neuve

Autumn is a magical season. It’s the inevitable transition between extreme warmth and extreme cold, the time of the year where you can wear a light comfortable jacket without feeling sweaty or shivery. Last time I was in Louvain-la-Neuve, it was during springtime, just the opposite transition. This time, I saw the temperature slide slowly from 20 degrees Celsius to 10 degrees Celsius. I’m ready to welcome winter, but not before saving some autumn memories.

Now, I say autumn is magical because it is filled with the colours of warmth and passion. As I wade through fields of yellow and red and orange leaves, I can’t help but feel that my whole surrounding is embraced by the moving flow of life. The leaves, they quietly fly away from the branches they have been hanging onto, and gently wave goodbye to the year, joining their companions on the ground in a sea of heterogeneous radiance. It’s as if the trees were shedding their hair, only to wait for fresh ones to come back next year.

It’s the first time ever that I feel like I’m in love with autumn. Such a short spam of time for the switch from summer to winter, but so calm, so beautiful.

Let’s start with some good ol’ LLN. Then we’ll see what autumn has that got me so amazed and in love.

I always find this sight amusing when I pass by, shoes hanging randomly from a string. Till this day I do not know the significance of them, if there is one.

Drawing on a wall at the Place des Sciences. I gotta say it’s pretty well done.

Here are a few snapshots of my lab. Nothing TOO revealing – I never know whether lab stuff is supposed to be confidential and camera-shy. Among the lab coats (top left) mine is the yellowest one because I got an old one…yep, oh well. And apparently someone loves science so much (top right) that he/she declared it to the world via his/her lab coat. Passion wins! Of course, don’t forget your lab coat, goggles, and gloves (bottom left) before entering the lab, especially when you are going to work with PIRANHA…solution (bottom right)!

Walking towards the Grand Place on a Saturday (or was it Sunday…I forgot) afternoon.

 
What, is that Pacman I see hidden behind the windows?! Oh man, people in this place certainly have some humour. These things made my day when I saw them! The first one is visible from my lab where I often work, and the discovery of the second one was accidental during a random walk. I actually found a few more of these on other windows, though they’re not Pacmen. One of these days when the weather is less gloomy, I shall go and catch them all!

 
(Click thumbnails for full-sized photos.)

Well, let’s get to our main characters, the colours of autumn! I never realized how beautiful autumn colours are until one day when I noticed the sea of orange leaves accompanying me on my way to the lab. Then I slowed down and observed the sudden peace that enshrouded me. Louvain-la-Neuve…isn’t all that bad, after all. All I gotta do is pinch my nose to avoid the odour of beer and puke after party nights, and open my eyes to what’s beautiful.

Back in Canada, they make a big fuss about going to see the falling leaves during the autumn. Yes, you can make a special trip to the park to see the maple leaves as they turn red, or you can glance out the window while you’re on the highway to see the transition of colours, but in everyday life, one almost always fails to notice that even the tree outside his house shed its leaves, and it could be a beautiful thing.

It’s true. When you take your time to stop and smell the roses, you notice little details that are around you each and every day yet pay no attention to. Last weekend, I took a stroll around Louvain-la-Neuve, from the east end all the way to the lake (it’s not really that far) and back, taking a new route, stopping here and there to fully experience the place before the trees go bald, which happened a couple of days ago. Thank goodness I got off my lazy ass to take pictures before all the leaves fell. I never thought Louvain-la-Neuve could actually be so enjoyable.

I went to Lake Louvain-la-Neuve again and this is my starting point. This curve caught my attention inexplicably. It’s so…aesthetically pleasing. It was quite a grey day though, the skies overcast with impending rain.

I stole LS-san’s idea in Barcelona for this one. We saw a pretty lady in a bright red flamenco dress that day and LS remarked that it’d be interesting to take a picture of her where only the red is shown and the rest is black and white, which then reminded of my camera’s selective colour mode. Of course, this time I DID have my camera with me, so I tried it with this girl with the red jacket. It didn’t work perfectly because the camera also recognized other traces of red around the scene, but the effect is still pretty neat. At least now I know how the mode works.

A look at Lake Louvain-la-Neuve from behind the greenery. It was my third time walking around the entire lake and every single time, it’s a different feeling. I saw a lot of joggers and bikers this time around and it gave off a sense of community, because everyone was out even though the weather wasn’t the best.

I’m gonna miss dad’s amusing comments on the blog for a few weeks since he’s on a trip. Funny, I’m starting to like his comments. He tries so hard to put everything in Cantonese, and I try so hard to actually understand. Well done, dad.

This (long) weekend…Cherbourg! I absolutely cannot wait…^_^

3 responses to “Autumn in Louvain-la-Neuve

  1. miranda November 16, 2011 at 23:11

    那個紅色外套的照片是怎麼辦到的~我很喜歡這種感覺的照片~我以前也拍過…類似的
    我….以前也有個blog 只是太多傷痛的記憶…..讓我選擇失去很多感覺….同樣的我也對生命失去了感動………..沒有感覺可以讓我忘記甚麼是痛 雖然快樂也變少了 但至少痛的事情也少了….雖然我知道這樣是錯誤的…..現在想找回感覺 但又發現 失去溫度太久 已經感覺不到溫度…….c’est la vie.
    je t’embrasse~ take good care of yourself
    miranda

    Like

    • Annie Bananie November 16, 2011 at 23:38

      韋伶,謝謝你的留言。我看了之後,深受感動,因為我最近也在經歷一些讓自己很傷痛的事。然而,我覺得,愛過痛過,總比平平無奇的生命過得有意義。雖然有些感覺會給你很多痛苦,但是神把感覺給我們,是要我們真真切切地去感受生命,而不是要我們墮入行尸走肉般的黑暗。人生總有歡樂悲傷,而能夠無憾地把自己的愛獻上,在當中經歷神,一切都變得值得的。。。希望你能看見這世界的美好,用心感受神的愛,重拾那生命的光。為你禱告。。。=)

      紅色外套的照片是用相機上一個簡單的模式拍的,可以選擇過濾顏色,用在鮮豔的顏色上,挺好玩的~

      Like

  2. Pingback: Moccasin Trail Park – Quest for the rainbow | Annie Bananie en Europe

You know you want to leave a comment. What are you waiting for?

