Annie Bananie en Europe

A blog about travel, life, and everyday tidbits

More life in Louvain-la-Neuve

Back to Bordeaux for a week, and already I feel like I’ve left all of Louvain-la-Neuve behind. It wasn’t like this the other way around. When I went to Louvain-la-Neuve, I wasn’t able to let go of Bordeaux for a good two weeks or so. That’s the power of a city with streets you love and people you miss.

Sinking back into the French lifestyle was easy. All you have to do is…do nothing. Nah, I kid. I do have to work, but I have to admit that the pace in France is significantly slower than Belgium. In Louvain-la-Neuve, there were times during my stay that I felt like I was running out of time, that I wouldn’t be able to get any results with my experiments. Back here, yeah I again have limited time, but the mentality somehow just completely changed. I am way more relaxed and I convince myself that I’ll get everything done on time. I can take it slow and easy.

Blah. Is this my lame excuse for my own laziness? Perhaps, but I’ve learned enough time management to know better than leaving things until the last minute now. I think I can proudly say that I am slowly getting rid of my nemesis in university, named procrastination. It has improved a lot since then, and I am no longer pulling my hair minutes before a deadline. Thank goodness.

In terms of stuff to do outside the lab, it was almost non-existent in Louvain-la-Neuve. Upon my return to Bordeaux, I realized how lively Bordeaux is during the summer, with events and festivals all over the place! I am going to a Beethoven/Wagner concert next week, then Saturday and Sunday is Fête le Fleuve! Dance shows, outdoor concerts, and of course fireworks…I can’t wait to see what the quais have to offer this time!

Here’s some more on life in Louvain-la-Neuve, the last for awhile. The next time I go back will probably be October of this year, if all works out well.

Random sculptures found along the road during a walk through the woods near the city center. I found a lot of interesting sculptures like these scattered around the campus, each unique in its own sense.

Street performance in the Grand Place.

Mural art in a hidden street. Things like this make me realize how little I know about the campus. The place is ridiculously small and I hadn’t even fully explored the whole place. When I do take a new path though, I always find something quite interesting.

A concert at the Aula Magna concert hall held by the university band. Rather professional and impressive, I must say. If I had known about these events before, I would have gone out a lot more. Now that I know, I’ll be sure to check them out next time I head back.

Tape art, or as my colleague (who created this) called it, “contemporary art”. When you wait for the XRR machine to align and calibrate, creativity creeps in and with a little bit of equipment within reach, anything can be materialized.

Lab barbecue at the Forest of Dreams in Ottignies. Very fancy name, sounds like something that would only appear in a fantasy novel or a fairy tale but it’s actually the name of the place. I was sitting there along the table, somewhere.

Looking outside the window as I go down the stairs on my way home, the view really reminds me of Waterloo, especially the MC area.

Next week I’ll write about the International Fair (Foire internationale de Bordeaux) that I went to on Sunday, which was a pleasant surprise. Until then, cheers and take it easy ^_^

You know you want to leave a comment. What are you waiting for?

