Annie Bananie en Europe

A blog about travel, life, and everyday tidbits

Around the lake in 20 minutes

Week 2 in Louvain-la-Neuve, and to be very blunt, I don’t like the place very much…

…which is okay, because the main headquarter is in Bordeaux and I will be going back there for most of my stay.

What don’t I like about LLN? Well, being a student town in a country where beer is the beverage of choice, you can expect a lot of parties and “soirées” nightly. It is not uncommon to hear rowdy (and probably drunk) students outside the window at 1:30 am, and the result is a very stinky city caused by alcohol-induced vomit. Broken beer bottles around the city in the morning make it even more obvious.

I’m surviving, though. I think the only thing that bothers me a lot is the odour, and everything else is just your normal Waterloo-like scene.

Oh, laundry is ridiculously expensive, as in more expensive than my lunch. I thought laundry cost was high at V1, but here it’s more than double, AND in Euros. I guess I’ll have to decrease the expected frequency of doing laundry here.

Last week I took a walk around a man-made lake in LLN. The weather was mediocre and the sky was mostly gray, but I have the feeling that the area around the lake will be quite pretty during the summertime.

La Mie d’Oli, a restaurant that serves sandwiches and pizza for lunch. I just thought I’d let Oliver know that there’s a restaurant named after him in Belgium, and that he should feel very proud to be making international influence.

Looking at traffic passing by. LLN is a funny city in that it is located on a continuous hill so that vehicles and traffic pass underground. Hence, we’re always standing on a higher plane than where the cars are.

Typical street/path in LLN. I wouldn’t even call it a real street; it’s just a pathway with student residences on both sides.

View of residences on the other side of the lake. The view would be much better if I’m standing at an even higher point, and I intend to find the best place to see the city during my time here.

Little island in the lake. The lake is pretty small; a walk around it took no more than 20 minutes.

More residences nearby the lake.

If you’ve read my blog before, you know I like taking pictures of animals. In my Paris blogs I had heck of a good time just duck-watching, and here we have our duck friends in LLN. There were a bunch of them in the lake, many different colours as well. Seems like a multi-cultural community, alright.

Swan lake? Nah, just kidding. I was surprised to see two swans in the lake, and here’s one of them. Beautiful, no?

And I have no idea what the heck this is.

I’m currently in Sesimbra, Portugal for a school conference/annual meeting and all I can say is wow. Prepare for some massive photo spam next week.

3 responses to “Around the lake in 20 minutes

  1. leafstick March 14, 2011 at 16:03

    Looks like a neat place =P Sounds like you are very much enjoying it har har har har

    Hey Hey Hey, get me some info in portugal [lisbon and porto or other recommendation]. IE good eats, great sites, stalkable parks, hummmmmmaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnaaaa

    I just bought my ticket, tell me where you at around the end of july?

    I’ll start my little blog thingi on this thingi site and post up my planish and all the funny photos of food i made this semmi

    Like

    • Annie Bananie March 14, 2011 at 21:43

      Around end of July…I should be in Bordeaux, unless I decide to go back to Canada, which at the moment is unlikely. I do have two weeks (or more) off in August though…:D

      YOU tell me what YOUR plans are…:P

      Currently in Sesimbra, excursion to Lisbon on Thursday. I’ll let you know what I find 😀

      Like

      • leafstick March 15, 2011 at 16:52

        i shared my calendar with you in google =]
        anything after greece is fairly flexible for now until i have places to camp
        I believe august I’m roaming about italy? and then france then spain

        Like

You know you want to leave a comment. What are you waiting for?

